Brand new day?

So, yesterday the US and Puerto Rico voted for president and veep, senators and reps, local government positions, and various referendums. The White House and Senate majority remain in the hands of the Democratic Party, the House majority remains in the hands of the GOP. Marriage Equality was passed in three states and a fourth chose not to ban it. Most of these are things I’m pretty happy about. But I’ve spent most of today in a funk. I was talking to my mother last night about Thanksgiving plans (which I’m totes psyched about–The Boy and I are having a tiny turkey-day dinner alone at his place. Except without turkey, because my mom can’t have red meat so when I cook holiday meals for my parents, I can never do roast beef and yorkshire pudding as I desperately long to do, so we’re doing that instead. thus ends this aside) and she asked me who I voted for. This is not unusual; she’s asked after every election. (It pleases me to note that she never has to ask IF I voted, btw.) I told her and followed it up with the statement that “more importantly, I voted for Marriage Equality.” Her response? “Ugh.”

When I was in 8th grade, my mother told me that if I liked girls, it’s okay and she still loves me. (At the time, I did not harbor any same-sex tendencies, but as I do now, I have treasured the sentiment.) When I came out, my parents laughed at my fears of being turned out. So it was quite shocking to me to find that my mother does not believe I should be treated equally by our government, depending on who I chose to spend my life with. Because we often have political disagreements, she refused to explain why she finds the concept distasteful, saying she didn’t want “to fight on the phone” about it. I spent the rest of the night and all of today feeling as though I have been punched in the stomach.

Please remember that behind the political debates are people.

2 Comments

Filed under heavy shit, LGBTQ, mental health, personal shit, political

2 responses to “Brand new day?

  1. Totally random: When I was in 8th grade, my mom said the same thing to me, because I wasn’t gossiping with her about boys. (I was UBER shy.) I’m still into dudes, so I was never able to treasure that statement… That being said, looking at it from the other side of the window makes it seem way cooler than my mom said that.

Leave a Reply

