This is an unwelcome turn of events

I’ve mentioned that The Boy has been ill. I woke this morning with swollen lymph nodes and a sore throat. :/ But let’s back up.

Saturday did indeed go essentially as planned. Also, Alex and Mary gifted me with the most wondrous, amazing gift of all: Hobo with a Shotgun, starring Rutger Hauer as the title character. Yes. AMAZEBALLS. And streaming on Netflix! Check it out IMMEDIATELY.

But as the clock ticked over from 11:59 to 12:00, the universe decided I had a little too much of a good thing (that thing being Hobo with a Shotgun) and fiddled with my plans a bit. First, I didn’t get home until 2:20 because the metro is soooooooooooooooooo slooooooooooooooooooooooooow and also only has trains like every 20 minutes and I went to the wrong side of the tracks when I transferred at L’Enfant to get on the green line because my book was very enjoyable and I am used to coming from the other direction into that station and went on autopilot, so I missed the first train that would have taken me home. After I arrived at my door, ready to sleep sleep sleep, I discovered that I had not reattached my house keys to my regular keyring after skating. (I took ’em off so there would be less metal jabbing into my hip if I fell on them.) So I called poor Dago, who was the maintenance person on call, and I got inside at 3:05. I was so tired I slept until it was time to leave for the cookie swap. On the way back from the cookie swap, I got hit with the worst migraine I’ve had in a while, and me without any triptans. My pharmacy was closed, but The Boy, like a boss, got my prescription from his pharmacy when I had the neuro on call call it in mere minutes before they closed. But then I slept until 9pm and had to take a second one to be okay. So no skating Sunday. 😦 When I got up my shoulders and upper back were really sore, but I decided it was from how I slept (though I did wonder about meningitis-as long as my pulse rate was a normal resting rate and I had no fever, though, I decided to dismiss it.)

This morning around 3 I woke with a sore throat and swollen glands but no fever. I drank some water and vowed to take some airborne when I got up. And so I did. And there was gargling of warm salt water, too. And pretty much every folk remedy ever, because I don’t want to give my parents a severe cold for Christmas. That would be a crappy gift, you guys.

I looked up the symptoms in case there were other things it could be, because I am one of Those People. One of the pages I looked at suggested that getting as much exercise as you can comfortably do will help, so after sleeping all morning I am going to try to work out a bit before packing things up. I will probably go in tomorrow, because the office is only semi-populated this week and there will be fewer people the longer the week goes on, but it does alter my plans for the week and weekend, too. Bah. At least I have snuggle kitties.

4 Comments

Filed under AUGH DISEASE, health, personal shit

4 responses to “This is an unwelcome turn of events

  1. saalon

    Erin’s been sick for weeks, coughing and hacking and feeling miserable. I hope, whatever this is, that it passes quickly for you. At the very least, let it pass by Christmas.

    • Thanks, E. I have a couple symptoms The Boy didn’t, or at least didn’t mention (low grade headache and achy aches) so I am hoping they are signs of my superior immune system. I called him a superhero last night when he brought me my meds, and his hypothesis is thus:
      “as soon as you mentioned i was a superhero, your otherwise strong immune system–which was already in pitched battle–noted that its foe had breached a superhero’s defenses, grew concerned and thusly declared IT’S A TRAP! they fell back and now there are tiny TIE fighters all over your bloodstream :/”

  2. Well THAT sucks like a giant sucking thing. Feel better, Mels!

Leave a Reply

