You take the good, you take the bad, you take ’em both and there you have the facts of life, the facts of life.

You’re welcome for that little earworm. Really, no charge.

Saturday: I got up early (alarm clocks should be banned from being able to chime at 8am on weekends!) and went out to Greenbelt to help plant an orchard that will help feed DC’s homeless and needy families. Thank you to Ryan and Bread for the City for letting me play in the mud with y’all.

I got dirty 😀 From janx

While I was doing that, some of our DCRG skaters were in the Cherry Blossom Parade:

I had to leave the orchard at noon so I could get ready for derby. Once I got home I washed my arms, finished the booksale sign, got changed and makeuped and headed out to derby feeling like I had done a week’s worth of stuff in two days because of all the hats I was wearing, and it definitely showed for a bit at derby. It got to the point where I was sure I needed to do SOMETHING but I didn’t know what. Pants said she was feeling the same way and at one point ended up spinning in place trying to figure out what to do next.

DC All Stars beat Maine Port Authorities (they beat us last time we played ’em, so it was a grudge match) 197-131 so YAY, ALL STARS! The second bout of the night was the Whips VS the Demoncats. In their first meeting, the Whips beat the Cats, so the Cat’s were looking for some payback, but it ended up with the Whips winning, 193-89. The Whips had glittery pickles on sticks for the fans to wave (their mascot is a pickle) and when I walked by the ‘Cats bench with one, my friends on DCDC did not look pleased. I told them that as soon as they give me a demoncat on a stick, I will wave it too. Scorey, who was volunteering as one of my bouncers since Scare Force wasn’t playing today, liked the idea so much I think she’s planning on making planes on sticks for the championships next month.

The DCPL book sale was a hit, although we didn’t sell out. It was great to have DCPL there, they signed people up for library cards, and a couple of them are actually students from CUA, too, which I didn’t realize before. I was like “you guys look familiar…did we have classes together?” I don’t have any totals, yet, but I think we did pretty well!

I got some bad news near the end of the bout, though, and left as soon as it ended. I honestly don’t know how much I will or will not want to talk about it (or if I’ll even be posting the rest of this week), but I wanted to get the bout report up, at lest. On Saturday, my uncle died. So, like I said, this week’s schedule is gonna be erratic at best. Most of the time I am functioning normally, but I have been pretty quiet. We’ll play it by ear.

Sunday, The Boy and I went to the Smithsonian American Art Museum to see the Art of Video Games

The Boy is taking a call from Diablo II From janx

it was neat.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog business, bout report, charity, derby, heavy shit, personal shit

2 responses to “You take the good, you take the bad, you take ’em both and there you have the facts of life, the facts of life.

  1. Mels, I’m really sorry to hear about your uncle. Hope you and your family are doing all right. Also, I want a shiny pickle, too.

Leave a Reply

