Revisiting Goals

Okay, here is the text from my January 2 post:
To have all my New Years Skating Goals in one place, I am putting them

RIGHT HERE:

  1. Get back on track with the whole fitness thing.
  2. Learn to stop on skates without falling down or gliding to a stop, inertia-style, before January is over.
  3. Get low and learn to turn so I can actually skate in a circle before the end of January.
  4. Skate a minimum of 4 times a week.
  5. Learn to skate backwards.
  6. Make it into Meat Camp and pass WFTDAs

And, since I have some non-skating goals too:

  1. Don’t keep people who make me feel like crap in my life.
  2. Also, don’t make a big deal about getting rid of those people
  3. Get a job that pays well enough that I can stop relying on others for money
  4. Get a job I love. (Ideally, the same one as the above job!)
  5. Rebuild my savings
  6. Pay off credit card, at least one of my student loans
  7. Make sure the people who don’t make me feel like crap know how much I love them, all the time. (I’f you’re in my life, and it’s because I want you around rather than because we share office space or whatever, I love you.)
  8. Take 1 non-family trip, whether it is the Big Continent Tour I have been planning (unlikely), a graduation present trip to Europe (hopefully!!) or a weekend visiting semi-nearish-but-not-near-enough-for-day-trips friends.
  9. Find a way to make my giant, nosy family less intimidating to non-family

So! What have I acheived?
Skating goals:

  1. Get back on track with the whole fitness thing.
  2. yes and no. I am on and off about working out regularly

  3. Learn to stop on skates without falling down or gliding to a stop, inertia-style, before January is over.
  4. DONE!

  5. Get low and learn to turn so I can actually skate in a circle before the end of January.
  6. Done nd also not done. I can skate in a circle, but I can’t do crossovers consistently yet.

  7. Skate a minimum of 4 times a week.
  8. 3 times is close…

  9. Learn to skate backwards.
  10. not yet

  11. Make it into Meat Camp and pass WFTDAs
  12. meat camp tryouts haven’t been announced, but are expected soon!

Non-skating goals:

  1. Don’t keep people who make me feel like crap in my life.
  2. Mostly. I’ve also made strides to non-accusatorily (totally a word!) talk to them about it in order to prevent needing to go this far.

  3. Also, don’t make a big deal about getting rid of those people
  4. yes.

  5. Get a job that pays well enough that I can stop relying on others for money
  6. not yet. 😦

  7. Get a job I love. (Ideally, the same one as the above job!)
  8. yes and no–the jobs I have are jobs I love. but they’re not permanent, which was part of the intent.

  9. Rebuild my savings
  10. no…

  11. Pay off credit card, at least one of my student loans
  12. no…

  13. Make sure the people who don’t make me feel like crap know how much I love them, all the time. (I’f you’re in my life, and it’s because I want you around rather than because we share office space or whatever, I love you.)
  14. yes, but I can still do this more!

  15. Take 1 non-family trip, whether it is the Big Continent Tour I have been planning (unlikely), a graduation present trip to Europe (hopefully!!) or a weekend visiting semi-nearish-but-not-near-enough-for-day-trips friends.
  16. not yet, but soon!!

  17. Find a way to make my giant, nosy family less intimidating to non-family
  18. sorta? the best I can do is to break the mass up into smaller chunks

Today is studying. I’m also gonna try to get some dishes done, and I want to make pork fried rice. All I need to do is chop the scallions and do the cooking, so it should be pretty quick. Plus, it’s probably healthier for dinner than, say, 5 doughnuts. 😉

6 Comments

Filed under check in, derby, goals, personal shit

6 responses to “Revisiting Goals

  1. You are doing *really* good on the goals, Mels! Much better than I am with mine. Keep on keeping on. You’re kicking the ass.

    • Thanks, E! The sheer number of “no”s and “not really”s was getting me a little bit down. Tomorrow I am going to revise my skating goals, because I know a lot more about what is needed than I did when I made those goals.

  2. Mary Kate Hopwood

    Agreed (with Eric) – you are doing AWESOME on your goals. Keep up the good work! I’m rooting for you!

  3. samatwitch

    Good for you for putting your goals out there and assessing them honestly. You’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

