Mental Health is Ridiculous.

I have no idea how I managed to spend over a quarter century un-medicated. Especially since every time I interact with other people it either is fine or makes me want TO KILL ALL THE THINGS. Or, occasionally, it makes me happy. But for the general public, meh or murder is all there is. It’s like I’ve been walking with a state-of-the-art prosthetic, and then someone switched it out for a termite-ridden peg leg. So I am mostly focusing on doing my work and not screaming and bursting into tears at everyone ever. Hence the late blog post, and the shortness of said post.

Last night we did DCRG headshots at the first practice back at the armory (they’re renovating.) The bathroom featured a lot of roaches and almost no toilet paper, but it’s really amazing how normal interactions with the skaters and pit crew types steadies me. I was pretty grumpy on my way over, due mostly to little things (and the fact that the handicap entrance to the armory wasn’t open because of the renovations, so if a guard hadn’t walked up to the other entrance (which has stairs) I would have had to sit outside and wait for someone to come by and go in and tell them there was a gimp* outside who needed in.) After 5 minutes inside I was much calmer and pleasanter (although I did a fair bit of venting, which probably helped too. My ortho postponed my appointment for 2 more weeks, so no walking for me. :/ )

Though not technically the season opener, the first DCRG bout of the fall is next weekend (September 22nd.) You can get in free if you volunteer, or pay $12 and spectate with some delicious beer/soft drinks/handmade marshmallows/skater-made baked goods (some of which is gluten free!!) Hope to see you there. You’ll spot me easily; I’ll be the only one with a sparkly fez and a scooter.

*meant self-deprecatingly in a humorous way, not an ableist way

1 Comment

Filed under AUGH INJURIES, derby, derbylove, health, mental health, Suicide Prevention Week

One response to “Mental Health is Ridiculous.

  1. Hello, I read your blog like every week. Your humoristic
    style is awesome, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

