Ouch!

Saturday was bout day. Scare Force beat the Bombshells, and the Whips beat the Demoncats. I couldn’t find my bout bag, which has the bouncer badges and my fez, so that sucked. (still looking for it, btw. If anyone has seen it, let me know!) I was also really tired, and didn’t mentally engage so much. I don’t know if this is a symptom of my depression, and if it is, is it just tiredness, or is it also disengaging from my interests? Or is it rooted in the fact that I still am not allowed to skate and I want to and also skating helps with my depression? I don’t know!

This was also the first bout since I broke my leg that I didn’t have any sort of extra support-no scooter, no crutches, just my legs. I did the safety tape labeling during set up, which was probably a mistake-you have to crouch down, write “do not cross” or some variant thereof (Limbs always does hilarious ones), get up and walk a step or two, then crouch down and do it all again, most of the way around the track (about 3/4ths of it). But I didn’t really have pain my right ankle so much (though by the end of half time between bouts, I couldn’t rotate my foot very much), it was my thighs that hurt. It turns out that not exercising after being on your back for a bit really atrophies your muscles. They’re still sore today, especially since I’m sitting at my desk at work for prolonged periods. When I get up, it is uncomfortable!

I had a psychiatric appointment today but I didn’t get out of the office in time, so it got rescheduled-I feel shitty about having missed it, but I did, and there’s nothing I can do, so…it’s now the day before my psychological evaluation, which is in about 2 weeks. Fingers crossed stuff helps.

2 Comments

Filed under AUGH INJURIES, bout report, derby, health, mental health

2 responses to “Ouch!

  1. Fingers and toes crossed for you.

Leave a Reply

