VBA Post

Uzi Q of Derby + Diapers nominated (and thus awarded) me for a Versatile Blogger Award! Thanks again, Uzi! According to the rules of the VBA I now have to share 7 things about myself and nominate some blogs.

Seven things about me:

  1. For exactly two months in high school, I went by “Annie” (my middle name is Ann.) Only one person called me that, though, so I switched back to my first name.
  2. When I started watching Doctor Who last year, my friend Eric could not wait until I got to season six so I could be rechristened Mels and know what that nickname referenced 😉
  3. I played violin for a year or so as a kid before we moved somewhere that didn’t have a music program for elementary students. I constantly plot to get a cheap one off e-bay and reteach myself.
  4. My second toes are longer than my big toes.
  5. I spent a ridiculous amount of time in the seventh grade staring at myself in the bathroom mirror, on a quest to learn to raise a single eyebrow. (I succeeded. Can only raise lefty independently.)
  6. Until I was 14 or 15, I was the only female cousin of my generation on my dad’s side; the other gazillions of cousins were boys.
  7. I’m terrified of heights. I have both parasailed and done ropes courses to try and cure myself of it. Next step: jumping out of a perfectly good airplane.

Some award-worthy bloggers:
I’m totally cheating. I’m just gonna point you to a couple of my favorite links in the sidebar to the left. Try Diary of a Rollergirl, Eenie Meanie Skates, Unofficial Derby Official, Epbot, Fit and Feminist, and the Bloggess.

If you’re in DC today, why not stop by Nellie’s Sports Bar between 5 and 8 and spend some quality time with the DC Rollergirls before the bout on Saturday?

6 Comments

Filed under Blog business, life in general, personal shit

6 responses to “VBA Post

  1. Yay! That’s one good thing this week, at least.

Leave a Reply

