I’ve seen the future and it looks like lemonade.

Today was the day that I used up like 10 lemons. Yep. All in one day.  

I was cleaning up the kitchen and I grabbed the lemons and I realized they’ve been sitting on my counter for a week (you should store your lemons in the fridge, everyone. not on the counter. they last longer. I KNOW this. Still. Lazy.) and the rinds had a bit more give to them than they really should. They weren’t BAD, but they WERE GONNA BE! So first I grabbed my Alice Medrich cookie book (I can’t find my copy of Bittersweet, btw, which is not related except that it’s also an Alice Medrich book, and I WANT TO KNOW WHERE IT IS DAMMIT) Chewy Gooey Crispy Crunchy and I looked at the two lemon bar recipes. I did not want the lighter lemon bar recipe. My kitchen was not equipped for it in any case (ingredient-wise). So I did the regular one,Very Tangy Lemon Bars 2.0. Well, except I made some substitutions, so I named it Very Tangy Lemon Bars 2.1 instead. I subbed greek yogurt for some of the butter and whole wheat flour for the AP flour (because that’s what I had.) I had to add a little water to the crust to keep it together since WW flour needs more liquid than AP flour does, but that’s neither here nor there. (I probably could have added a little more yogurt instead, but I didn’t know if I’d need the extra moisture or not.) I cut them up pretty small (in part because I don’t have a square pan, so I used a pan with the same area as an 8×8 but which is rectangular) so they’re 86 calories each (give or take). They are delicious, so sweet and so tart.

When I shared pics on FB with a caption about having too many lemons, Comma told me there is no such thing as too many lemons and then offered me one of her mom’s recipes, which I happily took her up on since I had 6 lemons left. It turned out that I had every ingredient necessary already in the house, so I made it today too. (I was a 1/4 cup shy of the amount of lemon juice I needed because the last lemons were smaller, but I had bottled lemon juice that I used to supplement the fresh squeezed.) I had never had this dish, or even heard of it before; avgolemono. I immediately dubbed it Comma’s Momma’s Avgolemono and got to work. When it was ready, I dished up a bowl and tentatively tasted it.

OH.

MY.

GOD!

IT WAS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD! I WANT TO EAT IT ALL THE TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s basically stock and rice and egg yolks and lemon juice. Which sounds weird and maybe terrible but IT TASTES AMAZING. I LOVE IT. SO GOOOOOD

Leave a comment

Filed under :D, food, life in general, personal shit

Leave a Reply

