Retrospective and Anticipation.

This is posting while I’m either hiking with derby friends and the boy or eating things after hiking, because I’m trying out this whole scheduling posts ahead of time thing. It’s a new year, and that means it’s time to look at the old one and plan for the new.

Last year my looking forward consisted of this:

I’m expecting a bit better of you, 2014. Nothing fancy, but if we could refrain from losing family members and include gaining employment over the next 12 months, you will have a resounding victory over your predecessor. The earlier in the year the latter happens, the more sweeping your victory will be! Over the year, I resolve to push myself to network more with other librarians and archivists rather than let my social anxiety about socializing with strangers; to find gainful employment; to get this damn plate out of my leg ASAP so I can and try out for DCRG without worrying about the random aches and pains it seems to cause*; to move in with The Boy (once I achieve gainful employment and hold the job for a while).

I did pretty well; several of these things were achieved. No family members died. A job was obtained. I networked more (though not very much, still!) and got the plate out of my leg. I didn’t try out or move in with the Boy. Looking back over the past year, the first half was largely crap still, but thanks to the Affordable Care Act, I started therapy in January and grew a lot over the year, as a person, in health and sanity, and in dealing with others. (Though there is always room for improvement!) I found a fulfilling volunteer task to fill my time while I sought work, I spent a lot of time letting go of unhealthy stuff, I was more introspective than narcissistic (a balance I have to try hard to maintain, because I slide to the narc side very easily), and I ended the year significantly more happy than I began it.

For 2015, I’m going to return to posting my goals and goal updates! Because it turns out (at least going by my tagging) that I haven’t done it regularly since 2012. So. GOALS. Yo dawg, I heard you like goals so I put a goal about goals in your goals. Thank you, Xzibit. I’m trying out for DCRG in 2015*, for sure and definitely and no excuses (unless I break myself again, but I’M NOT DOING THAT AGAIN DAMMIT). I’m going to continue to grow, and change, and work on being a better person. I’m going to figure out a way to coexist with my mother without compromising myself, even if that way is simply interacting shallowly and rarely with her. I will work on ignoring things that make me angry in a way that doesn’t leave me stewing and full of rage for hours or days afterward. I will strive to read one book a week and definitely read at least 40 this year (which was always cake before but now I’m lacking time to do it, hence the fairly low goal total).

*sub-goals are learn to skate backwards already dammit, improve mohawks and thus transitions. concurrent/related/adjacent goal is to pass the minimum skills test so even if I don’t make the league I can skate with them at practices/start hittin’ bitches.

2 Comments

Filed under books, check in, goals, I'm an ADULT, Library stuff, life in general, mental health, personal shit, volunteering, work

2 responses to “Retrospective and Anticipation.

  1. Good luck with attaining your goals. I hope 2015 will be a banner year for you in all sorts of ways.

Leave a Reply

