Nerdday Thursday: WEENIE ROAST IN THE WOODS

welcome_to_twin_peaks_by_samsayer-d4v2p06 Welcome back to the ongoing series about my first viewing of the enigmatic Twin Peaks.  This week we tackle what I see as the series’ first dud episode, “The One-Armed Man.”

I had to watch this episode twice, I found myself so easily distracted from it. Based on all the foreshadowy hints and points of curiosity in earlier episodes, I knew I had to pay more attention to it before moving on, but it was tough for me. This episode started strong with Sarah Palmer describing the scary dude in her vision to Andy, who was acting as police sketch artist. (Speaking of Andy, I feel just as clueless about why Lucy’s mad at him! Did I miss something? (obviously, I’m sure I missed tons of things, but) between them I mean!) As soon as the scene switched to Lucy’s ridiculous soap opera I found myself unable to pay too much attention to the show.

I admit my attention span isn’t what it once was, what with the advent of the internet and all, but previously I’d had very little interest in picking up my phone of laptop during the show. I assume Invitation to Love is inserted into the series as a way to highlight stuff (it certainly made Catherine and Ben Horne’s affair scene seem extra soapy!) but it’s so hokey I can’t stand it! I mean, sure, Twin Peaks was an evening soap, even if it wasn’t your standard one, (what were the evening soaps at the time? Were Dynasty and Dallas still on? I think they had ended…and I’m too lazy to look into it.) The appeal of Twin Peaks, for me, is the weirdness that is taken as common-place (by just about everyone in the show!), not the murder mystery or the soapiness. I wonder if Passions was the daytime soap version in a way–so freaking hokey, but mega-bizarre too, even for the ridiculous storylines of daytime soaps. The more mimetic soaps still have evil twins and amnesia plots and all that, but Passions had a living doll and an actual witch, which seem more in line with Twin Peaks’ dreams and visions than the average daytime or evening soap did at the time (or, for daytime soaps, ever did outside of Passions.)

I really hate Dr. Jacoby as a representation of the psychiatric/psychological profession, but I do find him entertaining as a character.

This is the first episode where I noticed that cousin Maddy is also played by Sheryl Lee, who plays Laura Palmer in flashbacks and as a corpse in the series. She just has brown hair and really big, late 80s glasses.

Questions I’m left with at the end of this episode: what was the point of making the one armed man cry, exactly? Who took one of the many heart-half necklaces? Why won’t Donna let James talk to the police about the investigation? When was it, exactly, that my brain decided that Lara Flynn Boyle and Sherilyn Flynn were the same person, and why did it take like 18 years to figure out that they are not, even when Sherilyn Flynn guested in two separate roles on my beloved Gilmore Girls? Will the series lose me further, or recapture my interest in the next episode? (Judging by the description netflix offers, the latter is likely. More Log Lady! Macabre sylvan crime scene! Dreams!)

Leave a comment

Filed under fangirling, nerding out, nerdsday thursday, twin peaks

Leave a Reply

