Meredith Anne Robbins

mermerLast night at 8:42 pm EST, my best, oldest friend died. This year’s Meredithmas will be tough, coming less than a month after her passing. She’d been through so much, with lots of health issues, but this was not expected in the slightest. Even when I learned that she had been hospitalized earlier this week and I feared the worst, I was still pretty confident she would pull through, because she never took any bullshit lying down.

When I was 13 we moved to Fairfax and I started a new school for 8th grade. Meredith was in the accelerated program, of course, because she was a super smarty pants, but we had homeroom together and that’s how we met and became friends. We went to different high schools, but kept in touch, attending each other’s homecomings some years. We spent 3 hours on the phone once, watching the Miss America pageant together from across town. She came on my family beach trip the year the first X-Files mermovie came out, and we spent hours holed up in the emptier house having private dance parties to the movie soundtrack and then totally pretending we weren’t shaking our butts when anyone came in to get something for the other house. We didn’t talk frequently, but every time we did, or got together, it was like no time at all had passed between contact. We both wanted to be a rock for the other, but worried about leaning on each other too much (and then laughed when we talked about it and promised to always tell the other first when something was wrong.) She was the first person I would reach out to when my depression got overwhelming. She was the person to whom I could talk about anything, bowel movements and fashion, X-Files and pretty girls, boy trouble and joys. She is my sister in spirit. She was always going to be my maid of honor if/when I got married. I fucking hate that she’s gone, but I’m so very thrilled that she no longer has to deal with RA, or fibro, or any other of the ailments that tried, and failed, to take her down. As for the final illness, it may have won against her body, but I know my Merbear was expecting one hell of a party in the afterlife and she’s shaking dat ass with Gi. Before this, she was a school librarian, changing the lives of NY children, a volunteer for the Anti-Violence Project, a vocal activist for LGBTQIA rights, and the best friend a girl could have.

1981-2015. Meredith is preceded by her father and her friend Gianny and survived by her husband, her mother, and her many friends. I don’t know how to live without her, but I’m gonna have to try because she’d be so pissed if I didn’t.

9 Comments

Filed under family, heavy shit, memories, personal shit, sad

9 responses to “Meredith Anne Robbins

  1. What a lovely tribute to your friend, Mels. She sounds like the kind of person it would be great to hang with on good days or bad. I’m sorry for that big hole in your heart that you have now. I’m glad you have so many good memories to help you through. Good thoughts and energy to you. *hugs*

  2. I’m so very sorry you’ve lost your lovely friend. She sounds like someone I’d love to have been around. Thank you for sharing the story of your friendship ❤

  3. *I’ve been debating and re-reading this for like, five minutes now trying to decide if I should post or not. I think I’m going to though because I want you to know that I care about you and the fact you are hurting right now.*

    Really beautiful sentiments, Melly. If I can do anything free from so far away, please don’t hesitate to ask. I just got diagnosed with IBS so I can talk about poop with you if you want. (just wanted to make you smile, hope it wasn’t too soon)

  4. Bonnie Robbins

    Melanie, I want you to love she loved you back.

  5. Kari Brown

    I’m so sorry. I met Meredith at USC. How did she die? This is so sad. You have great memories of her 😔

Leave a comment